Uncategorized

Why we love Singapore

With a great deal of expectations and thirst for the new we came over to Singapore.  Of course there were also mixed feelings with regard to what do we have to expect  from the relocation. How will our wonderful kids react to the switch? It was like a dive into new unknown depths of the sea: A totally different culture, a different language, differently looking people. We left all our friends and all the beloved amenities behind us. We changed our Viennese paradise and our cosy farm in the country aside for the uncertain and unknown. A lot of people couldn’t follow our reasonings why leaving Abraham’s bosom and quitting voluntarily our Austrian paradise?

Of course there are the professional challenges for Claudia. But even more counts the unique opportuity for our kids to grow up in an international environment. To get in touch with foreign cultures, languages and lifestyle habits in a very young age. The opportunity to imbibe an international mindset, to get an understanding for people who look different, behave different, speak different. To learn that notwithstanding all differences, there’s a common band which units the mankind. To learn that all humans deserve the same respect which we expect from them. Regular stays at home in Austria help us and our kids not loose track of our roots. And last but not least we see in our move to Singapore a family adventure which will deepen and tighten the ties between all family members through common experiences and adventures.

However our expectations were, they were surpassed by far. The Singaporeans are wellcoming, warm people. They show a discrete reservation but no prejudges. They are polite and obliging and give a helpful hand whenever needed. Let me give you an example: Whenever Claudia is travelling with the kids in the Metro she’s immediately offered a seat for her and the kids – something what’s unthinkable in Viennese public transport.

Singapore scores with great leisure facilities: well kept public parks such as the Botanic Garden, the Chinese Garden and Japanese Garden, the wetlands in the north at the border to Malaysia. The East Coast parc and the Bukit Timah National Reseve offer great opportunities for out door activities. Several generously laid out indoor kids playing grounds and a magnificent bouncing center – Savannah, Robin and Jacob love it being there. Jacob has established himself very well within the Real Madrid lead SSCA soccer academy. Not to forget the extraordinary educational and healthcare facilities – they are rated amongst the best in the world. The Singaporean educational system tops the famous PISA test.

And one aspect is paramount  –  Security! There’s no other place in the world where one can feel that secure than in Singapore. No matter which daytime and were you move in Singapore, no matter whether you’re a woman, a child or a man – the probability to fall victim to a crime goes to zero. If your kids or wife are late you need not be afraid  that she or he was kidnapped, raped or something other cruel happened to them. There’s only a low chance to get involved in a traffic accident, above all compared to other Asian or European cities.

Of course the subtropical climate with temperatures soaring around 30 degree and a extremely high humidity from 80% and more impair at the beginning the quality of life. But one gets accustomed to it  and we consider it  the price one has to pay for all the amenities one may enjoy in Singapore.

Yes, we love it being here in Singapore and we are looking forward to the forthcoming years. We’ll keep you updated and share our experiences with you through our adler-asia-adventure.com blog!

Pictures Why we love Singapore

To open the gallary, please click on a Foto

Leave a Reply

Unkategorisiert

Warum wir Singapur lieben

Mit großen Erwartungen sind wir nach Singapur übersiedelt. Natürlich waren da auch einige skeptische Gedanken dabei was da alles auf uns zukommen wird.  Wie werden die Kinder auf den Umzug reagieren? Es war ein Sprung in die unbekannten Tiefen des Ozeans: Alles war neu – eine total unterschiedliche Kultur, eine fremde Sprache und fremd aussehende menschen. Wir haben unser behagliches Leben in Wien und unseren gemütlichen Bauernhof am Land gegen das Unbekannte eingetauscht. Viele Freunde und Bekannte konnten nicht verstehen, warum wir freiwillig Abraham’s Schoß und damit unser österreichisches Paradies verlassen.

Natürlich waren da einmal die beruflichen Herausforderungen für Claudia. Aber noch viel mehr zählte die einmalige Chance für unsere Kinder in einem internationalen Umfeld aufzuwachsen, die Möglichkeit, schon in frühen Lebensjahren eine mit fremden Kulturen, Sprachen und Menschen in Berührung zu kommen. Zu lernen und zu erfahren, dass trotz aller Unterscheide es ein natürliches Band gibt, das alle Menschen dieser Erde eint. Zu lernen, dass alle Menschen den selben Respekt und die selbe Achtung verdienen, die man selbst von ihnen erwartet. Regelmäßige Urlaube in Österreich soll den Kindern helfen, nicht ihre Wurzeln zu vergessen. Und zu guter Letzt sehen wir in unserer Übersiedlung nach Singapur ein einzigartiges Familienabenteuer, das die Beziehungen zwischen den einzelnen Familienmitgliedern durch gemeinsame Erfahrungen und Abenteuer vertieft und verfestigt.

Wie immer unsere Erwartungen waren, sie wurden bei Weitem übertroffen. Die Singapurer sind herzliche, einladende Menschen. Sie zeigen eine diskrete Zurückhaltung ohne jegliche Vorurteile. Sie sind sehr entgegenkommend,höflich und hilfsbereit. Dazu ein kleines Beispiel: Wann immer Claudia mit den Kindern in der U-Bahn unterwegs ist wird ihr und den Kindern sofort ein Sitzplatz angeboten – undenkbar in der Wiener U-Bahn.

Singapur punktet mit großartigen Freizeiteinrichtungen: penibel gepflegte öffentliche Parks wie der Botanische Garten oder der Chinesische Garten. Der East Coast Park  oder der Bukit Tina Nationalpark so wie das Augebiet im Norden der Insel an der Grenze zu Malaysia  bieten einzigartige Möglichkeiten für Outdooraktivitäten. Mehrere großzügig angelegte Indoorspielplätze und ein großartiger Bouncing Center  – Savannah und Robin lieben es diese Einrichtungen zu besuchen. Jakob hat sich bereits bestens in der von Real Madrid geführten SSCA Fußball Akademie eingelebt. Nicht zu vergessen sind das weltweit herausragende Gesundheits- und Schulwesen. Singapurs Schulwesen liegt regelmäßig an der Spitze des PISA Tests.

Ein Aspekt ist besonders hervorzuheben  –  Sicherheit! Es gibt wohl keinen anderen Platz auf der Erde, wo man sich so sicher fühlen kann wie in Singapur.  Egal ob Frau oder Mann, Junge oder Mädchen oder Kind – die Wahrscheinlichkeit einem Verbrechen zum Opfer zu fallen geht gegen Null. Auch die Gefahr in einen Verkehrsunfall verwickelt zu werden ist äußerst gering – vor allem in Vergleich zu anderen asiatischen Megacities.

Natürlich beeinträchtigt das subtropische Klima mit Temperaturen stets über 30 Grad und einer enorm hohen Luftfeuchtigkeit von 80% und mehr die Lebensqualität. Aber man gewöhnt sich daran un wir sehen es als den preis , den wir zu bezahlen haben, um all die anderen Annehmlichkeiten von Singapur zu erleben.

Ja, wir sind happy in Singapur zu sein und freuen uns auf die vor uns liegenden Zeit. Wir halten euch am Laufenden und teilen unsere Erlebnisse über unseren Familienblag www.adler-asia-adventure.com.

Pictures Why we love Singapore

To open the gallary, please click on a Foto

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.