Uncategorized

Singapore’s Tree Top Walk

Singapore is one of two cities worldwide which are built in the jungle. Singapore is a highly urbanized city-state and one of the most modern cities in the world: Impressive and futuristic buildings wherever one looks, business districts with paned towers and sophisticated shopping malls, broad roads and highways crisscrossing the island, an efficient public transport system and numerous leisure facilities. Singapore has got everything that one expects from a metropole – but Singapore has even a bit more!

Wherever one goes and wherever one looks, the traces of the jungle are omnipresent. In order to preserve its jungle heritage there are 4 major natural reserves in Singapore: the Central Catchment Nature Reserve, the Bukit Timah Nature Reserve, the Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve, the Labrador Nature Reserve.

One of the attractions of the Central Catchment Nature Reserve is the Tree Top Walk with a 250 meter long Suspension Bridge as its main attraction.

Although it was a rainy Sunday morning we set out to do the tree top walk. In Singapore weather is very fickle. Raining in the morning and at one’s home doesn’t mean that 1.) the weather won’t turn for the better within the next hour and 2.) when it’s raining at one’s home that’s not to assume that it’s also raining in the place one is heading for in Singapore. But even when it’s raining and when one gets wet, that’s only half as bad. In Singapore it’s never cold and if one is not afraid of water you can just walk in the rain. You’ll never feel cold and one’s not in danger of catching a cold. Just keep on walking – as soon as it stops raining you’ll get dry within a short time.

By taxi we went to the Venus Road carpark, from where we started our tour. On well maintained paths we strolled towards our goal, the suspension bridge. Since it was still raining, many sections of the path were muddy and we worked hard to bypass the many puddles. For Savannah and Robin – of course, it was the greatest pleasure to trudge directly through the puddles: The more mud and puddles, the greater the joy for them.

The route itself is very well signposted, one cannot get lost. Moreover, since it was a Sunday a lot of people and families were doing the trail – almost too many.

The tree top walk is in one direction. The way to the suspension bridge is slightly sloping up and after a bit more than one hour we reached the entrance gate to the bridge. The bridge itself is surprisingly narrow. It is some 250 meters long and connects the two highest points in the nature reserve: the Bukit Peirce and the Bukit Kalan. Although the bridge is not higher than 25 meters, that’s comparable to a 7-storey house, the walk over the bridge offers stunning views over the jungle canopy and the MacRitchie Nature Reserve. To the great joy of the kids one even can feel the bridge swaying when crossing it. Time and again, we stopped in order to enjoy the great view.

Once having left the bridge behind, there’s a steady descent on a boardwalk with numerous steps. We returned to the starting point of our jungle walk at Venus Road earlier than expected. In total we had covered 7 kilometers in around three hours – big compliments to Savannah and Robin, who mastered the stretch without much difficulties. For Jacob, the walk was no challenge. It was more of a challenge to Claudia and me to keep him in a good mood, because we had just torn him out of an exciting online computer game with his friends for a “boring” jungle walk. Besides, it’s distressing to join the parents and smaller siblings on a staid Sunday family excursion when he could do much more exciting and challenging virtual online adventures with his mates! Puberty is catching up with him.

One has to admit that the Tree Top Walk cannot compete with our adventures in Borneo, neither can it with the breathtaking canopy walk in the Mulu National Reserve nor with our challenging and unique climb up to the Pinnacles.

There were even no animals to be seen along the Tree Top Walk in Singapore, which may be contributed to the bad and rainy weather: No intrusive monkeys like on Pulau Ubin, where fortunately we survived an unexpected assault by rather aggressive macaque monkeys, which were after our snacks. No exotic colorful birds flying around and warbling cheerfully. But also no mosquitoes which normally harrow the visitors. No butterflies or monitor lizards. And unfortunately, or should one say fortunately, no cobras or pit vipers; it seemed that all the animals preferred to pass the rainy day in their holes and nests.

Hence, we decided to be back once more on a sunny day. Then, hopefully the lush, dense and beautiful Singaporean jungle will reveal more of its exciting beauties to us!

Pictures to the Tree Top Walk

Please click on a picture to open gallery

Leave a Reply

Unkategorisiert

Singapore’s Tree Top Walk

Singapur ist eine der zweite Städte weltweit, die mitten im  Dschungel erbaut wurden. Singapore ist ein stark verstädterter Stadtstaat und eine der modernsten Städte der Welt:Beeindruckende und futuristische Bauwerke wohin man blickt, Businessviertel mit den obligatorischen Glastürmen und coole Shoppingcenter. Breite Strassen und vielspurige Highways führen zu jedem Winkel der Insel.  Ein beispielhaft ausgebautes, öffentliches Verkehrswesen mit U- Banken und Bussen sowie zahlreiche Freizeiteinrichtungen machen Singapur zu einer wirklich lebenswerten Stadt. Singapur hat alles was man von einer modernen Metropole erwartet und doch noch ein bisschen mehr:

Wo immer man hingeht und hinblickt, die Spuren des Dschungels sind unübersehbar.  Um sein Dschungelerbe zu bewahren, hat Singapur 4 große Naturreservate geschaffen: the Central Catchment Nature Reserve, the Bukit Timah Nature Reserve, the Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve, the Labrador Nature Reserve.

Eine der Attraktionen des Central Catchment Nature Reserve ist der Tree Top Walk mit einer 250 Meter langen Hängebrücke als Hauptattraktion.

Obwohl es ein regnerischer Sonntag war, haben wir uns auf den Weg gemacht um den Tree Top Walk zu erkunden.  Das Wetter in Singapur ist sehr launisch. Regen am Morgen und in einem District von Singapore heißt noch lange nicht dass 1.) das Wetter nicht in der nächsten Stunde radikal von Regen auf Sonnenschein ändert und 2.) wenn es bei einem zu Hause regnet heißt das noch lange nicht, dass es auch dort regnet, wo man hin möchte. Aber selbst wenn der Regen anhält und man nass wird, ist das nur halb so schlimm. In Singapore ist es nie kalt und wenn man nicht gerade wasserscheu ist, kann ein Spaziergang im Regen auch ganz schön lustig sein. Es wird einen nie kalt und die Gefahr, sich zu verkühlen liegt gleich bei Null. Immer weiter gehen – und sobald es zu regnen aufhört wird man in kürzester Zeit trocken sein.

Im Taxi fuhren wir zur Venus Road, von wo aus wir unsere Tour starteten. Auf gut ausgebauten Wegen wanderten wir auf unsere Ziel, die Hängebrücke, zu. Das es noch immer regnete war der Weg ziemlich matschig und wir hatten Mühe, die vielen, großen Wasserlachen zu umgehen. Für Savannah und Robin war es natürlich die größte Freude mitten durch den Matsch und die Wasserlachen zu marschieren: Desto matschiger umso größer war der Spass.

Der Weg zur Hängebrücke ist sehr gut ausgeschildert, sodass man nie Gefahr läuft, den Weg zu verlieren. Zudem war es Sonntag und man musste nur mit der großen Masse mitschwingen, um sein Ziel zu erreichen.

Der Tree Top Walk ist nur in eineRichtung begehbar. Der Weg zur Hängebrücke ist leicht ansteigend und nach knapp einer Stunde erreichten wir das Tor zur Hängebrücke. Die Brücke selbst ist überraschend eng. Sie ist knapp 250 Meter lang und verbindet die beiden höchsten Punkte im Park: den Bukit Peirce und den Bukit Kalan. Obwohl die Brücke nicht höher als 25 Meter ist, eröffnet der Gang über die Brücke überraschend schöne und spannende Ausblicke. Zur Freude der Kids spürte man die Brücke auch schwanken. Immer wieder hielten wir auf der Brücke inne, um die großartige Aussicht zu genießen.

Wenn man einmal die Brücke gequert hat, geht es ständig auf Holzstufen nach unten. Wir kehrten früher als erwartet zu unserem Ausgangspunkt in der Venus Road zurück. In Summe waren wir in 3 Stunden 7 Kilometer marschiert. Keine schlechte Leistung für zwei viereinhalb jährige Kids. Für Jakob war’s natürlich ein Klacks. Es war mehr für Claudia und nicht eine Herausforderung, Jakob bei Laune zu halten, weil wir ihm mitten aus einem online game mit seinen Freunden gerissen hatten. Daneben ist’s natürlich  überhaupt nicht cool, seine Eltern und Geschwister bei einem biederen Sonntagsspaziergang zu begleiten. Vor allem wenn man in spannenden online games sich mit seinen Freunden und Klassenkameraden machen kann! Die Pubertät längst nicht mehr lange auf sich warten.

Natürlich kann sich der Tree Top Walk nicht mit unseren Abenteuern in Borneo vergleichen, auch nicht mit der abenteuerliche Canopy Tour im Muli National Park.

Bedingt durch das schlechte Wetter haben wir kaum Dschungel Tiere gesehen. Keine aufdringlichen Affen wie auf Palau Bin, wo wir einen plötzlichen Überfall von Managen Gott sei Dank gerade noch heil überstanden haben. Keine exotischen, farbenfrohen Vögel flogen herum und zwitscherten fröhliche Lieder.  Aber auch keine Moskitos, die normalerweise den anderer piesacken. Keine Schmetterlinge und Riesenechsen. Und leider – oder sollte man besser sagen glücklicherweise auch keine Kobras oder andere giftige Vipern. Scheinbar sind sie bei diesem Hundewetter alle in ihren Höhlen und Metern geblieben.

So haben wir beschlossen, an einem sonnigen Tag wieder zu kommen. Dann wird der Dschungel uns hoffentlich alle sein reizvollen Seiten zeigen.

 

Pictures to the Tree Top Walk

Please click on a picture to open gallery

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.