Uncategorized

Kuala Lumpur (KL)

Kuala Lumpur means muddy confluence. In fact, KL was founded at the junction of the rivers Gombak and Klang. In Westerners, KL triggers the imagination with giant skyscrapers and friendly people dressed in colourful clothes. One smells the flavor of exotic dishes and sees oneself strolling through Chinatown with its countless food stalls and shops selling junk. One pays a visit to KLCC, the Kuala Lumpur City Center with its landmark, the Twin Towers, also known as the Petronas Towers. For a long time, the towers at a height of 451 meters were the highest building in the world (the current highest building in the world is Burj Khalifa, Dubai, 830 m). Not less impressive is the Suria KLCC, an enormous shopping center in the basement of the towers. Only 20 meters lower than the Twin Towers is the Menara television tower. From its observation platform, the visitor may enjoy a marvelous view over KL and its surroundings.

Jacob participated with his team in a soccer tournament In KL and we used the excursion to  do some sightseeing. Since our time was limited we decided to restrict our touristic program to some few hotspots: the Batu caves in the north of KL, the Petronas Towers and the KL Bird Park.

The Batu Caves:

A visit to the Batu Caves is undoubtedly one of the highlights of each KL-visit. Already from afar a 42 meters high, golden statue of the Hindu God Murugan welcomes the visitor. 272 steep steps lead up to the entrance of the iconic caves.  Alongside the stairway countless macaques frolic around. For tourists it’s advisable not to approach them too closely, because some of them may get rather aggressive. After a further 40 steps one reaches the main cave, which is more than 200 m long and 100 m broad. There numerous shrines invites one to worship one of the multitudinous Gods of the Malaysian Hindu. The ceiling of the cave had already given in thousands of years ago, so that the cave is partly open to the sky. The caves also may be explored through guided tours. On the way down, the visitor may enjoy a marvelous sight of KL and its surroundings.

 

The Twin Towers (Petronas Towers):

The TT, opened in 1999, were the tallest building in the world until 2004. The top of the TT of the Malaysian oil company Petronas (not to be confused with the Brazilian oil company Petrobas) towers at a height of 452 meters. At an altitude of 170 m a nearly 60 m long sky bridge connects both towers. The publicly accessible observation desk is at 360m altitude. From there the visitor may enjoy a 360-degree view of KL. The visit to the towers is a unique experience of the astounding possibilities of modern architecture. It is advisable to pre-book the entrance tickets online in order to ensure that visit takes place on the day one intends to go there.  And while one’s there one should also pay a visit to the hyper-modern shopping mall in the basement of the towers and proceed further to the KLCC park with the Simfoni lake and its huge fountain.

The Bird Park

Hundreds of birds are winging seemingly free through the air only restricted by a hardly visible net-enclosure. Situated in the heart of the city, the KL bird park is reputed to be the largest walk-in free flight aviary in the world. The bird park houses some 3000 birds representing more than 200 species: Watch parakeets and parrots, see soaring storks and flamingoes which hardly feel caged-in, marvel at peacocks spreading their plumage and the unique hornbill. The park area encompasses some 150 hectares, crossed by waters, lakes and numerous walking paths. Nature- and bird lovers will get their money’s worth here!

And of course Jacob also played in the soccer tournament. He delivered a great performance. Although his team only lost two out of 12 games, in the end it was only placed 13th out of 24 teams. As you can see in the attached pictures, sometimes it was very rainy and we got wet feet in the truest sense of the word.

 

Leave a Reply

Kuala Lumpur (KL)

Kuala Lumpur heisst soviel wie schlammiger Zusammenfluss. Tatsächlich wurde Kuala Lumpur am Zusammenfluss der Flüsse Gombak und Klang gegründet. Beim Touristen erweckt der Name Kuala Lumpur die Vorstellung von gewaltigen Hochhausbauten und freundlichen Menschen, die in farbenfrohe Gewänder gekleidet sind. Man riecht den Duft der exotischen Speisen und sieht sich durch Chinatown mit seinen unzähligen Essbuden und Shops flanieren. Man besucht KLCC, das Zentrum von KL mit seinem Wahrzeichen, den Petronas Türmen. Für lange Zeit waren sie mit einer Höhe von 451 Metern das höchste Gebäude der Welt. (das aktuell höchste Gebäude der Welt ist das Burj Khalifa Gebäude in Dubai, 830 m). Nicht weniger beeindruckend ist das Suria KLCC, ein riesiges shopping center im Erdgeschoss der Petronas Towers. Nur 20 meter niedriger als die Towers ist der Merana Fernsehturm. Von seiner Aussichtsplattform kann man eine einmalige Aussicht über KL und seine Umgebung genießen.

Jakob hat mit seinem Fußballteam an einem Turnier in KL teilgenommen. Wir nutzten den Ausflug natürlich auch für ein wenig Sightseeing. Da unsere Zeit beschränkt war, haben wir uns in unseren touristischen Aktivitäten auf einige wenige hotspots beschränkt: die Batu Höhlen im Norden der Stadt, die Petronas Zwillingstürme und den Vogelpark The Batu Caves:

Ein Besuch der Batu Höhlen ist zweifelsohne einer der Highlights jeden KL Besuchs. Bereits vom Weiten erblickt man die goldene, 42 Meter hohe Statue des Hindu Gottes Muragan. 272 Stiegen führen hinauf zu dieser Kultstätte der Hindus. Zahlreiche freche Makaken Affen turnen entlang dem Aufgang zum Gaudium der Besucher. Für Touristen ist es ratsam nicht zu nahe an die Affen heranzugehen da manche von ihnen durchaus aggressiv sein können.  Die Haupthöhle ist 200 Meter lang und 100 meter breit. After a further 40 steps one reaches the main cave, which is more than 200 m long and 100 m broad. Die zahlreichen Schreine laden zum Gebet an einen der vielen Hindu Götter ein. Das Dach der Höhle ist schon vor vielen 1000 Jahren eingestürzt und gibt den Blick zum Himmel frei. Das Höhlensystem der Bau Höhlen kann auch im Rahmen einer geführten Tour erkundet werden. Am Weg über die steile Steige hinunter kann der Besucher nochmals einen einzigartigen Ausblick über KL genießen.

 

Die Zwillingstürme (Petronas Towers):

Die 1999 eröffneten Zwillingstürme waren bis zum Jahr 2004 das höchste Gebäude der Welt. Die Petronas Towers sind 452 Meter hoch und gehören der malaysischen Ölgesellschaft Petronas (nicht zu verwechseln mit dem brasilianischen Mineralölkonzern Petrobas) Ein Skywalk in 170 Metern Höhe verbindet die beiden Türme miteinander. Die öffentlich zugängliche Aussichtsplattform befindet sich in 360 Metern Höhe. Von dort genießt der Besucher einen einmaligen 360° Rundblick über KL. Es empfiehlt sich die Eintrittskarten für den Tower vorzubestellen, da an der Tageskasse jeweils nur Testkarten verfügbar und dementsprechend rasch vergriffen sind. Und wenn man schon da ist sollte man unbedingt auch einen Blick in das hypermoderne Shoppingcenter im Erdgeschoss des Towers werfen. Ein Besuch des KLCC Parks mit See und einem riesigen Springbrunnen rundet den Besuch der Zwillingstürme ab.

Der Vogelpark

Hunderte Vögeln schwirren scheinbar frei durch Luft. Ein kaum sichtbares Netz über dem Park verhindert ein Entkommen der Vögel. Der mitten in KL gelegen Vogelpark ist der weltweit größte Park, in dem die Vögel frei herum fliegen können. An die 3000 Vögel, die 200 Vogelarten repräsentieren, haben im Park ihr zu Hause: Papageien und Sittiche, Störche und Flamingos, radschlagende Pfaue und der einzigartige Hornbild Vogel bewegen sich scheinbar frei im Parkgelände. Der Park umfasst 150 ha und ist von zahlreichen Bächen und Spazierwegen durchzogen.  Natur- und Vogelliebhaber kommen hier ganz und gar auf ihre Rechnung.

Und natürlich hat Jakob auch Fußball gespielt. Er hat eine großartige Leistung abgeliefert. Obwohl sein Team nur zwei von 12 Spielen verloren hat, reichte es am Ende nur zu Platz 13 unter 24 Mannschaften. Und wie auf den beigefügten Bildern zu sehen ist, gab es immer wieder heftige Regengüsse und wir holten uns im wahrsten Sinne des Worte nasse Füße!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.