Borneo

Just mentioning the name Borneo conjures up adventurous pictures in one’s head: vast, lush and impenetrable rainforests of an incredible biodiversity inhabited by dangerous animals such a venomous snakes and aggressive crocodiles. Borneo is the home of the Orangutans and big nose monkeys. Borneo is the home of many more herbal plants and animals, some of them have not even been discovered yet.

Borneo is the home of a great variety of native tribes, which once fought against one another in a brutal way. Pictures of headhunters and cannibals emerge in one’s head when paving one’s trail through the dense rainforest. Myriads of mosquitoes are buzzing around and countless leeches swoop down on the rainforest explorers.

Besides the wildlife, Borneo offers some idyllic beaches and small islands which each year attract thousands of tourists to do diverse kinds of watersports.

Borneo is the third largest island in the world. It is divided into four political districts: Sabah and Sarawak (Malaysia), Kalimantan (Indonesia) and the independent tiny state of Brunei.

During the Easter school holidays of our kids, Claudia and I travelled with Jacob to this exciting island. Since our time was limited to 11 days we decided to restrict our visit to three parts of Borneo: Kuching – Mulu – Kota Kinabalu

Our journey to Borneo started with a great excitement in the Singapore Changi airport: We had passed through all passport and luggage checkpoints and were on our way to the boarding gate when we became aware that Jacob’s passport was missing. He must have lost it somewhere on the way between the last checkpoint and the gate. Only 7 minutes remained to find the passport, otherwise the gate would have closed without us having boarded the plane. We scrutinized the way leading to the last checkpoint. But it was in vain. We couldn’t find the passport. We asked at the information counter whether the passport was with them –  negative report! While returning to the boarding counter, Jacob started a new scrutiny of the way. We were getting mentally prepared to abandon our flight, when Jacob dashed up to us, gladly holding his passport up in the air. On the deep red carpet we missed to detect the passport which has a similar colour as the carpet. Just in time! One minute later and we would have been barred from boarding the plane.

Kuching (below: the futuristic bridge of Kuching)

Kuching is the capital of the Malay state of Sarawak. Due to its location by the sea, Kuching is an ideal gateway both to the jungle and the sea. Hence, we started our Borneo adventure there. Kuching is a charming town with a blend of old colonial buildings and new modern paned towers. The Sarawak river meanders through the city, walking paths along the riverside invite one to stroll. The eyecatcher of the city is a new gently curved steel bridge over the river. In the evening, it’s illuminated by changing red, green, blue and yellow lights. The best way to get a first impression of Kuching is through a river cruise. We hired a sampan (= Chinese houseboat) and enjoyed a great trip on the river. In the evening, we just hung out and indulged in the bustling nightlife of the river’s waterfront.

“When you realise the value of all life, you dwell less on what is past and concentrate more on the preservation of the future.” This attitude of Dian Fossey inspired us to look deeper into the work of the Mantang and Semenggoh Nature Reserve. The institution dedicates its work to the preservation and rehabilitation of the Orangutans. This fascinating ape species shares 97% of our human DNA. Oranguntans which means jungleman, only live in the rainforests of the islands of Borneo and Sumatra. Due to the ongoing destruction of their natural habitat, indiscriminate hunting and illegal capture, the Orangutan is a highly endangered species.

The heart2heart foundation invites volunteers to join in the daily work of the reserve’s preservation and rehabilitation program. The so called volunteer tourism is a fast growing niche market. The travellers typically do voluntary work for charity. Volunteering at the heart2heart foundation allows the tourists to gain a deeper insight and better understanding of the needs and challenges in preserving orangutans.

We joined a volunteer day. Our work ranged from cleaning up of cages to the preparation of the orangutan’s food. Provided with boots, helmet and mouthpiece we engaged in the work. The floors of the cages were to be scrubbed and hosed. Then we had to pack food in leaves and to tie them with cords. Finally, we had to hide the prepared food in the cages. Thus, the orangutans are to learn to seek their food and to unpack it before consuming. Like in real wildlife, the animals have to work for their sustenance. (right: preparing food for the orangutans)

Our volunteering was just a very superficial sniffing into the tasks and challenges of heart2heart’s daily work. Nevertheless, it will be a lasting experience which will be forever connected with our stay in Borneo.

Mulu National Park (MNP)

The next leg of our Borneo trip was in Gunung Mulu National Park. Since 2000, the park has been a UNESCO World heritage site. By plane we travelled for about an hour to the Mulu airport, a small site with just one landing and takeoff strip. Jacob was somewhat surprised at this jungle airport, above all when comparing with Singapore’s Changi airport, his “home” airport.

The MNP is a protected rainforest. It’s known for its seemingly impenetrable jungle, for its mountain summits and caves. You come here to experience life in unembellished nature. The more one penetrates into the jungle the closer one feels to the roots of life thousands of years ago, when humans originated somewhere in an African jungle: heat, extreme humidity and lots of little gadflies like leeches and mosquitoes. Adventure has its price – but those who are willing to pay it will be rewarded with incomparable and unforgettable adventures.

We started our jungle adventures with a kind of Borneo for beginners. We installed ourselves in the MNP Rainforest Lodge. “Unfortunately”, our longhouse room was equipped with aircon, hot showers and 24 hours power, which is generated by special generators. At least there was only poor internet connection in the camp, so that Jacob could get a first impression of a “Wifi-free” life. That fell in line with our intention to get Jacob acquainted with a simple life without shocking him.

Our first expedition in the jungle led us over well-prepared trails in the close surroundings of the camp. Once we left the camp behind us we were surrounded by deafening noise. Cicadas! Millions and millions of cicadas, many of them as big as a palm. After years in the ground they come out and now have just a fortnight to procreate. Therefore, the males have to chirrup, the louder the better. Only the loudest, which drown out their rivals will be successful and will get a female. It’s incredible what noise these tiny insects can produce. In terms of decibels, the unit of measurement for sounds, the cicadas’ noise equals that of a starting jet engine. Their mating calls are so loud that they drown out most of the other jungle noises. One has to concentrate in order to hear a bird sing or a frog croak.

Again and again, we perceived a 2m x 2m net of thin steel threads. We learned that these nets were installed by scientists. By the number of insects that get trapped in the nets, the scientists may do calculations in order to get an idea of the huge number of insects which inhabit the jungle. Further, time after time insects, which have never been seen before get entangled in the nets and so it happens that new, hitherto unknown insect species are still being discovered.

At dusk, we reached the famous deer cave. It’s inhabited by millions of bats. Each evening at sunset they fly out to find feed. In companion with other visitors we positioned ourselves in  a clearing some 500 meters away from the cave and waited to see the bats fly out. At first instance, just some single bats came to the light – just as if they were exploring to see whether the conditions fit for all the other bats to fly out. And then, like the eruption of a volcano, big swarms of thousands of bats pushed outside, painting huge black stains into the evening sky. They left the cave entry, soared up the around 300 meters high, perpendicular rock face in order to disappear at last in the direction of the setting sun. It was amazing to see the different formations the bats built when flying out. No formation equaled the other. After hardly 30 minutes the stream of outgoing bats dwindled. The cave was emptied. Only in the morning, after around 10 hours in the air, the bats will return to the cave and hang upside down on the ceiling so as to rest, in order to start the same flight spectacle in the next evening.

On the next day, we set out for our next jungle experience: to explore the jungle’s canopy. The rainforest administration built a net of 15 narrow suspension bridges close to the treetops, thus creating a canopy round trip which takes approximately 2 hours to walk. Of course, one must not be scared of heights, because the swaying bridges made of ropes often lead to heights of up to 50 meters. But the adventure pays off! It provides one with a jungle view that is usually reserved for the treetop dwellers.

The pinnacles.

The renowned Pinnacles at MNP consist of a series of razor-sharp limestone spikes which are up to 45 meters high. The view of the pinnacles is an exclusive experience, the way up to them is another challenging adventure. The distance seems to be short, just 2.3 km away from the jungle camp. It’s the height difference which makes the excursion to the pinnacles  a veritable, exhaustible challenge: On the 2.3 km way one overcomes 1200 vertical meters.   Incredible – thereto add heat, humidity, a myriad of mosquitoes and leeches, which seemingly have chosen the hikers as their festival buffet.

In addition, there was the news, that just a couple of days ago a climber fell down the rocks and passed away on the trail.

The climb was tough – one of the hardest I have ever done, above all the way down. Jacob –  on the contrary, did very well. For him, as it seemed, the climb of the pinnacles was just a longer hike through the mountainous jungle. Excellent job!

 

Scuba Diving in Kota Kinabalu (KK)

The 3rd leg of our Borneo trip led us to the beaches and reefs of Kota Kinabalu. Jacob wanted to learn Scuba Diving and so we decided to book a beginners-course in Scuba diving for Jacob and me at KK.

KK is the capital of the Sabah state in the northern Malay part of Borneo. Its coastline and reefs are ideal to do snorkeling and scuba diving. Already the journey to KK was an adventure in itself. With big eyes Jacob watched the two-engine propeller plane which he was supposed to enter in order to get to KK. Once we entered the small plane, there were no flight attendants to guide us to our seats. It was a 18-seater small aircraft, our seats were   immediately behind the cockpit. Since there was no door to close off the cockpit, we were able to watch the two pilots doing their work. Still somewhat unbelievingly Jacob watched the procedures in the cockpit. With a hand grip here and a switch turned there, the propellers started to turn. With a hand gear pressed gently on the ceiling of the cockpit, the steering wheels in their hands, the pilots navigated the aircraft to the airstrip. One pilot pressed the lever on the ceiling forward and gradually the engines increased power. Then the other pilot drew the steering wheel towards him and the plane took off. Still Jacob was a bit tied up in knots, but the higher the plane got the more relaxed Jacob became. It was amazing to fly over the vast rainforest. Somewhere there below we had blazed our trail through the dense jungle in order to get to the jungle camp from where we climbed the Pinnacles. Then, the aircraft flew over the sea. We watched curiously all the fishing boats and cargo ships, each of them drawing their own trace in the sea.

After hardly 45 minutes the pilots started to descend and approach the airport of KK. Once more we were amazed watching the pilots doing their work.  The whole flight was operated manually; no computers replaced the pilots in doing their work. The landing was also done by hand and sight. Once more, the pilots turned and pressed switches and buttons, the hand gear on the ceiling was gently moved back, the steering wheel was handled with much sensitivity. A soft jolt and mother earth had us back around midday.

We were picked up at KK’s airport by an employee of the diving school and brought to the small island Manukan, some 2 kilometers offshore from KK. There we had lunch and at

2 o’clock in the afternoon our scuba diving started with the introduction of the diving gear: Buoyancy Control Device (BCD), the air-regulator systems, the oxygen containing cylinder. After a profound introduction to the diving gear we put it on. “Puhh, we didn’t reckon that the gear was that heavy. Somewhat clumsily we managed to get the gear on our body and finally two bowed frogmen were ready to get into the water. The few meters from the diving base to the sea were rather strenuous. Once in the water we had to work hard in order to put on the flippers. Every beginning is difficult! While buoying in the water we pulled and dragged on our flippers to get them properly on our feet. Again and again we flipped over but finally we managed to be ready to go through our first diving trials. Slowly we deflated our BCD and gently we sank into the water. With wide eyes we gazed into a new world – the underwater world. Although we were close to the beach we saw for the first time fish swarms gliding through the water. For us newcomers these fishes seemed to be the most beautiful and elegant creatures. We did several exercises to get familiar with the equipment and the new surroundings: inflating and deflating the BCD which makes the diver to go up or to dive down; special breathing exercises to learn how to react when one’s oxygen cylinder or breathing devices aren’t working properly. Time rushed by and we had to get out of the water – 3 hours passed by swiftly.

Back at the diving base I started feeling some unexpected aftermath of our Pinnacle climb: When descending from the Pinnacles I merely slipped and fell  – but it was enough to cause some open sores on my hand palm, a sprained thumb and a 10-centimeter long cut on my thigh. They seemed negligible to me at the moment when it happened, but now in the salt water they started to burn terribly. Moreover, the pain in my thumb joint hindered me from pressing properly the inflator and deflator button of my BCD. At the beginning of our diving session all these troubles were brushed aside by my excitement. However, the longer we stayed in the water the more I became aware of the pain.

Next morning, I tried once more again to continue the diving lesson – but in vain. The more and more my wounds were soaked in the salt water, the burning in my wounds increased. The back of the my hand was swollen from the thumb to the little finger – I could only handle the inflator and deflator button with great pain. I realized: my diving trials had to come to an end and above all I didn’t want to be an impediment to Jacob’s further scuba diving lessons.

To make a long story short: I quit, Jacob went on with his diving education and after three days he was granted his first diving licence: open water down to 12 meters – Congratulations!!

Leave a Reply

Borneo

Alleine schon der Name Borneo erzeugt abenteuerliche Bilder im Kopf: weitläufige, üppige und kaum zu durchdringende Regenwälder, ein schier unvorstellbarer Artenreichtum und gefährliche Tiere wie Giftschlangen und aggressive Krokodile. Borneo ist auch das Zuhause der Orang Utans und der Langnasenaffen. Borneo ist Heimat für viele Pflanzen und Tiere von denen manche bis heute unentdeckt sind.

Borneo ist die Heimat von zahlreichen Naturvölkern, die sich einst brutal bekämpften. Die Bilder von Kopfjägern und Kannibalen tauchen im Kopf auf, wenn man sich seinen Weg durch den Dschungel bahnt. Unzählige Moskitos schwirren herum und zahlreiche Blutegel machen es dem Urwaldwanderer schwer. Neben der Natur bietet Borneo eine Reihe von idyllischen Ständen und kleinen Inseln, die jedes Jahr eine größere Zahl an Touristen anlockt.

Borneo ist die drittgrößte Insel der Welt. Sie ist in vier politische Distrikte eingeteilt.  Sabah and Sarawak (Malaysia), Kalimantan (Indonesia) und der unabhängige, Kleinstaat, das Sultanat Brunei.

Während der Osterferien bereisten Claudia, Jakob und ich Borneo. Da wir nur 11 Tage Zeit hatten, beschlossen wir uns auf drei Regionen von Borneo zu beschränken: Kuching – Muli – Kota Kinabalu

Erste große Aufregung bereits vor unserem Abflug nach Borneo am Flughafen von Singapore: Wir hatten bereits alle Pass- und Gepäckkontrollen passiert und waren auf dem Weg zum Boarding Gate als Jakob bemerkte, dass sein Reisepass fehlte. Er musste ihn irgendwo am Weg zwischen dem letzten Checkpoint und dem Weg zum Gate verloren haben. Es blieben nur mehr 7 Minuten um den Reisepass zu finden – dann würde das Boarding Gate schließen und der Flieger ohne uns nach Borneo abdüsen. Wir gingen den Weg zurück zum letzten Checkpoint und suchten angestrengt den Boden ab – vergeblich! Wir konnten den Pass nicht finden. Wir fragten am Checkpoint und am Infoschalter ob Jacob’s Reisepass gefunden wurde – leider nein. Während wir zum Boarding Gate zurück gingen, machte sich Jakob nochmals daran den Boden genauestens abzusuchen. Wir hatten uns geistig schon darauf eingestellt den Flug zu verpassen, als Jakob daher gebraust kam und seinen Reisepass freudestrahlend in Händen hielt. Am rotbraunen Teppich des Airports war der ebenfalls in rot gehaltene Reisepass nur schwer auszumachen, aber Jakob’s Adleraugen erspähten ihn trotzdem. Just in time! Keine zwei Minuten später wäre der Flieger ohne uns nach Kuching abgeflogen.

Kuching (unten: die futuristische Brücke von Kuching)

Kuching ist die Hauptstadt des malaysischen Bundesstaates Sarawak. Kuching ist eine liebliche Stadt mit einer einmaligen Mischung aus kolonialen und modernen Gebäuden. Der Sarawak Fluss windet sich durch die Stadt, Spazierwege an seinen Ufern laden zum Flanieren ein. Der Hingucker ist ganz klar die neue, geschwungene Brücke über den Fluss. Am Abend erstrahlt sie in hellen, bunten Farben. Der beste Weg um einen ersten Eindruck von Kuching zu gewinnen ist eine Bootsfahrt am Fluss.  Wir mieteten ein Sampan, das ist ein chinesisches Hausboot, und genossen eine wunderbare Bootsfahrt. Am Abend sind wir in das bunte Treiben an der Waterfront eingetaucht und haben die besondere Atmosphäre von Kuching in uns aufgesogen.

Wer einmal den Wert des Lebens realisiert hat wird mit seinen Gedanken weniger in der Vergangenheit verweilen sondern sich auf die Sicherung der Zukunft konzentrieren. Diese Worte von Dian Fossey inspirierten uns, uns genauer mit der Arbeit des Mantang und Semenggoh Naturreservats zu beschäftigen.  Diese Einrichtung fokussiert mit seiner Arbeit auf die Rettung und Rehabilitation von Orang Utans. Diese faszinierende Tiere teilen zu 97% unsere menschliche DNA. Orang Utan bedeutet soviel wie Waldmensch. Sie sind nur auf Borneo und Sumatra zu finden. Durch die voranschreitende Abholzung der Regenwälder, wahllose Bejagung und illegale Gefangennahme sind die Orang Utans ein hoch gefährdete Tierart.

Die  heart2heart foundation lädt Freiwillige ein gegen Bezahlung an ihrer  täglichen Arbeit teilzunehmen. Der sogenannte Freiwilligen Tourismus ist ein rasch wachsender Nischenmarkt.  Die Freiwilligen Arbeit im Rahmen der heart&heart Organisation erlaubt den Teilnehmern einen tieferen Einblick in die tägliche Arbeit zum Schutz der Orang Utans.

Wir haben an so einem Freiwilligen Tag teilgenommen. Unsere Arbeit reichte vom Putzen der Käfige bis zur Vorbereitung des Futters. Ausgerüstet mit Helm, Stiefel und Mundschutz stürzten wir uns in die Arbeit. Die Böden der Käfige waren zum Schrubben und Säubern. Danach packten wir Futter in Blätter und verschnürten diese. Schließlich mussten wir das Futter im Gehege verstecken. So sollen die Tiere lernen ihr Futter aufzuspüren und auszupacken. Wie in der freien Wildbahn haben die Tiere für ihr Futter zu arbeiten.  (rechts: wir bei der Zubereitung des Futters)

Unsere Freiwilligen Arbeit war gerade einmal ein Hineinschnubbern in die Aufgaben und Herausforderungen der heart&heart Foundation. Dennoch war es ein bleibendes Erlebnis und wird immer mit unserem Borneo Besuch verbunden bleiben.

Mulu National Park (MNP)

Die nächste Station auf unserem Borneo Trip war der Gunung Mulu National Park. Seit dem Jahr 2000 ist der Park ein UNESCO Weltkulturerbe. Mit dem Flieger ging’s zum Mulu Airport – ein kleiner Dschungelflughafen mit gerade einmal einer Landebahn die zugleich Startbahn ist. Jakob war einigermaßen überrascht als er den Flughafen sah, vor allem in Hinblick auf die großzügige Ausgestaltung seines „Heimatflughafens“ in Singapore.

Der MNP ist ein geschützter Regenwald. Er ist bekannt für seinen scheinbar undurchdringlichen Regenwald, für seine Berggipfel und Höhlen. Man kommt hier her um das Leben in unzerstörter Natur zu erfahren. Je weiter man in den Dschungel vordringt um so näher fühlt man sich dem Leben, wie es vor tausenden Jahren gewesen sein muss, als der Mensch irgendwo im afrikanischen Dschungel zum Leben erweckt wurde: Hitze, extreme Luftfeuchtigkeit und unzählige Quälgeister wie Moskitos und Blutegel. Abenteuer hat seinen Preis – wer bereit ist diesen Preis zu bezahlen, wird mit unzähligen und unvergesslichen Erlebnissen und Abenteuern belohnt.

Wir haben unser Dschungel Abenteuer mit einer Art „Borneo light“ gestartet. Wir quartierten uns in der MNP Regenwald Lodge ein.  „Leider “ war unser Langhaus mit Klimaanlage, heißen Duschen und elektrischen Strom ausgerüstet. Zumindest war die Internetverbindung im Camp mehr als schlecht, sodass Jakob einen ersten Eindruck von einem Wifi-freien Leben bekam. Das war ganz in unserem Sinne um Jakob an ein simples, naturnahes Leben heran zu führen, ohne ihn gleich zu schockieren.

Unser erster Ausflug in den Dschungel führte uns über gut präparierte Wege in die nähere Umgebung des Camps. Einmal das Camp hinter uns gelassen, waren wir von ohrenbetäubendem Dschungelgeräusch umgeben. Zikaden! Millionen und Abermillionen von Zikaden, viele von ihnen handballengroß, sorgten für diesen unvorstellbaren Lärm. Nach vielen Jahren im Boden sind sie hervorgekommen und haben nun gerade einmal 14 Tage Zeit um sich fortzupflanzen. Dazu müssen die Männchen zirpen – je lauter desto besser. Nur die Lautesten, die, die anderen übertönen kommen an ein Weibchen heran. Der Lärm ist unvorstellbar und steht dem eines startenden Düsenjets um Nichts nach. Ihr Zirpen ist so laut, dass die meisten anderen Geräusche des Dschungels dagegen verstummen. Man muss sich richtiggehend  konzentrieren, um einen Vogel singen oder einen Frosch quaken zu hören.

Immer wieder erspähten wir 2 x 2 Meter große Netze, die auf dünne Stahlgerüste gespannt waren. Diese Netze werden von Biologen ausgelegt. An Hand der Anzahl der Insekten, die sich im Netz verfangen lassen sich Rückschüsse auf die ungeheure Anzahl von Insekten machen, die den Urwald bewohnen. Immer wieder verfangen sich auch neue, bisher unentdeckte Insekten im Netz der Wissenschafter und so werden laufend neue, bisher unbekannte Insektenarten gefunden.

Zur Abenddämmerung erreichten wir die berühmte Deer Höhle. Sie wird von Millionen von Fledermäusen bewohnt. Jeden Abend zum Sonnenuntergang fliegen sie heraus und gehe auf Nahrungssuche. Zusammen mit anderen Touristen platzierten wir uns etwa 500 Meter entfernt von Höhlenausgang und warteten darauf, die Tiere heraus fliegen zu sehen. Zuerst kamen nur einige wenige Fledermäuse, quasi die Vorhut und erkundeten das Terrain – und dann, gleich der Eruption eines Vulkans, flogen Schwärme von tausenden Fledermäusen aus der Höhle und malten große schwarze Flecken in den Himmel. Sie flogen aus der Höhle, kreisten an einer ca. 300 Meter hohen, senkrechten Felswand hinauf und verschwanden schließlich in Richtung Sonnenuntergang. Nach knapp 30 Minuten ebbte der Strom der Fledermäuse ab. Die Höhle war leer. Erst am Morgen nach rund 10 Stunden in der Luft, kehren die Fledermäuse zurück und hängen sich kopfüber in der Höhle zur „Nachtruhe“ auf. Am nächsten Abend beginnt das ganze Spektakel dann wieder von vorne los.

Am nächsten Tag machten wir uns daran das Dach des Regenwaldes zu erkunden. Die Parkverwaltung hat ein Netz von 15 schmalen Hängebrücken entlang der Baumwipfel installiert. Diese Canopy Tour durch die Baumwipfel dauert in etwa 2 Stunden und vermittelt ganz neue Eindrücke vom Leben im Regenwald. Natürlich darf man keine Höhenangst haben, da viele der schwankenden Brücken bis zu 50 Meter über dem Boden gespannt sind. Aber das Abenteuer zahlt sich allemal aus.

Die Pinnacles.

Die berühmten Pinnacles im MNP Park bestehen aus einer Reihe rasiermesserscharfer Spitzen, die bis zu 45 Meter hoch sind. Der Blick auf die Pinnacle ist ein außergewöhnliches Erlebnis und auch der Marsch hinauf zu ihnen ist ein herausforderndes Abenteuer. Die Entfernung vom Basecamp bis zu den Pinnacle scheint gering, gerade einmal 2,3 Kilometer. Es ist die Höhendifferenz, die den Besuch der Pinnacles zu einer veritablen Herausforderung macht: Auf dem Weg zu den 2,3 km entfernten Pinnacle muss eine Höhendifferenz von 1200 Metern überwunden werden. Unvorstellbar steil, dazu kommn Hitze, hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit und die üblichen Quälgeister wie Moskitos und Blutegel, die den Bergsteiger zu ihrem Festmahl erkoren haben. Dazu noch die Nachricht, dass es keine 14 Tage  her ist, das ein Bergsteiger aus England am Weg zu den Pinnacle in den Tod gestürzt ist.

Der Anstieg zu den Pinnacles war hart, super anstrengend, aber noch viel anstrengender war der Weg zurück hinunter ins Camp. Es war einer der härtesten Trails die ich je gegangen bin. Jakob hingegen tat sich leicht – alle meine Sorgen waren unbegründet. Für ihn schien der Weg zu den Pinnacles und wieder zurück gerade einmal eine längere Wanderung durch den gebirgigen Dschungel zu sein. Excellent job! Nach insgesamt 9 Stunden Dschungelwanderung kehrten wir wohlbehalten zum Camp zurück.

 

Tauchen in Kota Kinabalu (KK)

Die dritte Station unseres Borneo Aufenthaltes waren die Strände und Riffe von Kota Kinabalu. Jakob wollte Tauchen lernen und so organisierten wir für ihn und mich  einen Tauchkurs in KK. KK ist die Hauptstadt vom District  Sabah im nördlichen Teil von Borneo. Seine Küste und Riffe sind ideal für Schnorcheln und Tauchen. Schon die Anreise nach KK war ein Erlebnis für sich. Mit großen Augen schaute Jakob auf die 2-Propeller Maschine mit der wir nach KK flogen. Keine Stewards begleiteten uns zur 18-sitzigen Maschine. Unsere Plätze waren direkt hinter dem Cockpit. Da das Cockpit keine Türen hatte, konnten wir den Piloten bei ihrer Arbeit beobachten. Noch immer etwas ungläubig beobachtete Jakob die Vorgänge im Cockpit. Ein Handgriff hier und dort einen Schalter umgelegt und schon begannen sich die Propeller drehen. Der Steuerknüppel am Dach des Cockpits wurde leicht gedrückt und das Flugzeug setzte sich in Bewegung. Die Piloten steuerten das Flugzeug zur Startbahn. Ein Pilot drückte den Hebel am Cockpitdach weiter nach vorne und die Motoren drehten sich schneller. Der zweite Pilot zog das Steuerrad zu sich und das Flugzeug hob ab. Jakob war noch immer etwas verkrampft, aber je höher das Flugzeug stieg umso relaxter wurde er. Es war toll über den weiten Regenwald Borneos zu fliegen. Irgendwo da unten hatten wir uns durch den Dschungel gekämpft um die Pinnacles zu besteigen.  Dann flog die Maschine über dem Meer. Neugierig beobachteten wir die vielen Fischerboote und Frachtschiffe. Jedes von zeichnete eine lange weißes Spur in das tiefblaue Meer.

Nach kaum 45 Minuten begannen die Piloten mit dem Landeanflug auf KK. Einmal mehr begeisterte uns die Arbeit der Piloten. Der ganze Flug war von Hand gesteuert – ohne Autopilot. Auch die Landung erfolgte per Hand und auf Sicht. Einmal mehr drückten und drehten die Piloten Knöpfe und Schalter, der Hebel am Cockpitdach wurde sanft zurück gezogen, das Steuerrad wurde mit großer Behutsamkeit bedient. Ein leichter Ruck und wir waren zurück auf Mutter Erde.

Am Flughafen von KK wurden wir von einem Mitarbeiter der Tauchschule abgeholt und zur kleinen Insel Manukan, knapp 2 Kilometer von KK’s Küste entfernt. Nach einem kleinen Mittagessen begann der Tauchkurs mit einer Einführung in die Tauchausrüstung: das sog. Buoyancy Control Device (BCD), der Atemregler, die Pressluftflasche. Nach einer gründlichen Einschulung zogen wir die Ausrüstung an. Puh – war die schwer! Etwas unbeholfen schafften wir es, die ganzen Sachen anzuziehen. Schließlich waren zwei gebückte Froschmänner bereit ins Wasser zu watscheln. Die wenigen Meter von der Tauchbasis zum Meer waren wirklich anstrengend. Im Wasser hatten wir dann Probleme die Tauchflossen anzuziehen. Während wir im Wasser trieben zogen und zerrten wir an den Flossen um diese irgendwie auf unsere Füsse zu bekommen. Aller Anfang ist schwer. Aber irgendwie schafften wir es und waren nun bereit mit den ersten Tauchübungen zu beginnen. Langsam entleerten wir unser BCD und gemächlich sanken wir unter Wasser. Obwohl nahe zum Ufer sahen wir die ersten Fischschwärme durch das Wasser gleiten. Uns Anfänger erschienen diese Fische wie die wundersamsten und elegantesten Geschöpfe der Erde. Mit verschiedenen Übungen machten wir uns mit der Ausrüstung und seiner Funktionsweise vertraut: Aufblasen und entleeren des BCD, was den Taucher entweder aufsteigen oder absinken lässt; spezielle Atemübungen und Handhabung des Atemreglers um zu lernen was zu tun ist, wenn das Atemgerät nicht einwandfrei funktioniert. Die Zeit verging wie im Flug und schon mussten wir wieder aus dem Wasser.

Zurück in der Tauchbasis spürte ich die Nachwirkungen unserer Besteigung der Pinnacles: Beim Abstieg rutschte ich einmal aus und fiel hin. Ich schürfte mir die Handfläche auf , verknackste mir den Daumen und zog mir einen 10 Zentimeter langen Schnitt am Oberschenkel zu. Die Verletzungen schienen mir vernachläßigbar als es passierte, aber nun im Salzwasser begannen die Wunden höllisch zu brennen. Zudem hinderten mich die Schmerzen im Daumengelenk den Knopf zum Aufblasen und Entleeren des BCD richtig zu bedienen. Zu Beginn des Tauchabenteuers waren alle Schmerzen durch die Aufregung wie weggeblasen. Aber je länger ich im Wasser war umso mehr spürte ich die Schmerzen. Am nächsten Morgen versuchte ich nochmals die Tauchausbildung fortzusetzen – aber vergeblich. Die Wunden wurden vom Salzwasser aufgeweicht, sie brannten unerbärmlich. Der Rücken meiner linken Hand war vom Daumen bis zum kleinen Finger angeschwollen, ich konnte den BCD Regulator nur unter großen Schmerzen bedienen. Es wurde mir klar: Ich werde meine Tauchambitionen fürs Erste aufgeben müssen – und vor allem wollte ich für Jakob kein Hemmschuh in seiner Tauchausbildung sein.

Um es kurz zu machen: ich stieg aus dem Tauchkurs aus, Jakob machte weiter und nach 4 Tagen bekam Jakob sein erstes PADI – Tauchzertifikat. Open Water Tauchen bis 12 Metern Tiefe – Gratulation!!!

 

 

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.